List of countries citizens of which require an airport transit visa:

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • Iraq
  • Iran
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka

An airport transit visa is necessary also for those foreigners who possess the travel documents issued by 12 countries mentioned before. 

Citizens or residents of the above countries do not need an airport transit visa if they have a travel document issued by these countries and they:

  • already hold a valid residence permit in the Republic of Latvia, an entry visa, or a transit visa;
  • already hold a valid residence permit issued by Andorra, the United States of America, Japan, Canada, Liechtenstein, Monaco, San Marino, the Swiss Confederation or the Vatican, that grants them the right to return;
  • are members of an aircraft crew and citizens (nationals) of a member state of the 7 December 1944 International Convention on Civil Aviation.