Covid-19 News
Laboratorijas darbinieks pēta analīzes

To contain the spread of the new, potentially more dangerous version of Covid-19 virus, which has recently been discovered in the Republic of South Africa, in Latvia, the Government decided today, on 26 November, to ban travel to and from South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland and Zambia. The travel ban will not apply to Latvian citizens or permanent residents of the EU with a residence permit in Latvia.

This decision was made in response to information about the dangers and rapid spread of the newly discovered strain of Covid-19 virus.

Latvian citizens or permanent residents of the EU who have resided in one of the above-mentioned countries during the last 10 days are obliged to:

  • present the result of the Covid-19 RNA test, which was performed 72 hours before entering the territory of Latvia;
  • perform the Covid-19 RNA test as soon as possible, but not later than within 24 hours after entry into the territory of Latvia and within 8 days after entry into Latvia;
  • after entering the territory of Latvia, immediately go to the tourist accommodation place to observe self-isolation for 10 days after leaving one of the above-mentioned countries, informing the tourist accommodation place that the person has arrived from a high-risk country and is obliged to observe self-isolation.

If a person who has entered Latvia from one of the above-mentioned countries has not observed self-isolation in the tourist accommodation place, the members of the household who have come into contact with the person are obliged to observe self-isolation at home, a hotel or tourist accommodation place for 10 days.

Travelling and the organising of tours to these countries are also prohibited.

Sintija Gulbe

Ministry of Health, Press Secretary